Windows 10

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Iris, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. Iris

    Iris Superhero Member Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44,402
    Likes Received:
    306
    Ratings:
    +447 / 45 / -10
    Looking forward to the new release.
    I hope to be a better version of Windows 7 with which i was very pleased. Windows 8 wasn't that bad as everyone claimed, but i wouldn't use it on my desktop. Perfectly fine for the tablet though. :thumbsup:

    ...and i just got a pop-up on my desktop that i can upgrade for free when W10 is going to be released. :horns:


    [​IMG]
     
  2. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    I got the pop-up too, but I remember that this OS I have now was installed by the repair shop when I damaged my hard drive. So, I won't have a serial number if I ever need to reinstall the windows. Maybe I won't update. I'm not sure how smooth it'd run with just 2 gigas of RAM anyway :o
     
  3. Iris

    Iris Superhero Member Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44,402
    Likes Received:
    306
    Ratings:
    +447 / 45 / -10
    You won't need a serial key as far as i know.
    Once your windows 7 is a legit copy and it has been activated, you get the windows 10 upgrade for free. ;)

    (but i'll try first and let you know as soon as it will be released) :thumbsup:
     
  4. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    Yep, and hopefully there's a "burn a dvd image of windows 10" option. And if one day I need to format and re-install?
     
  5. Iris

    Iris Superhero Member Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44,402
    Likes Received:
    306
    Ratings:
    +447 / 45 / -10
    When you upgrade you-ll get a windows 10 cd-key that comes with the product.
    Even now when you go to : left click on "my computer" => Properties => bottom of the window you'll find: Product is active, activation id: xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx .

    :o
     
  6. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    I didn't think that was like a serial number :tard2:
     
  7. Iris

    Iris Superhero Member Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    44,402
    Likes Received:
    306
    Ratings:
    +447 / 45 / -10
    It's your serial number. :tard2:
     
  8. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
  9. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Why didn't I get a pop-up? :(
     
  10. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I don't know anything about it, but I've heard people say you can upgrade for free even if your OS is pirated.
     
  11. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    Nah :p
     
  12. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    look in C:\Windows\System32\GWX
     
  13. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Are you sure? I mean, it's not like they say officially that you can, but it should be possible.
     
  14. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Okay, and then?
     
  15. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    isn't the white icon there? :shrug:
     
  16. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Which one?

    GWX.jpg
     
  17. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    the first one I guess :tard2:
     
  18. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I clicked on all of them. :shrug:
     
  19. forgotten in space

    forgotten in space Champion Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    13,029
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    casa do boda
    Ratings:
    +238 / 19 / -7
    maybe there's some windows 8.1 (or is yours 7?) mandatory update you don't have? or maybe it's not available to you yet? my sister only got hers yesterday (the actual update I mean, she had the notification thingy)
     
  20. Azazello

    Azazello Unstoppable Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6,238
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Estonia
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    Dunno, I have Windows 7 and it always updates automatically.
     

Share This Page